The Asia-Pacific Europe Law Institutes Alliance (APELIA) is a nonprofit academic association founded by prestigious law schools and legal research institutions in Asia-Pacific and Europe. The purpose of APELIA is to provide a platform for legal research and education, academic cooperation, international exchange of researchers and students, and dissemination of knowledge.

  APELIA was established in June 2019 through a joint initiative proposed by Shanghai Jiao Tong University Koguan Law School and Erasmus University Rotterdam Erasmus School of Law. APELIA has 18 founding members from Asia-Pacific and Europe.

  APELIA consists of a Council as the governing body including all 18 founding members, and a Secretariat established in China Institute for Socio-Legal Studies of Shanghai Jiao Tong University. Professor Ji Weidong from China Institute for Socio-Legal Studies of Shanghai Jiao Tong University and Professor Yuwen Li from Erasmus University Rotterdam Erasmus School of Law were elected as the interim Co-Presidents of APELIA. Professor Yang Li from China Institute for Socio-Legal Studies of Shanghai Jiao Tong University was elected as the Secretary-General.

APELIA holds an annual international conference as well as an annual executive meeting. The international conference will address challenging and cutting-edge legal issues that are of particular relevance and significance in Asia-Pacific and Europe, and aim at high-quality publications on internationally reputable law journals and edited volumes as the output.

The founding members of APELIA are (in alphabetical order):

Aix-Marseille Université, Faculty of Law and Political Science, France
British Institute of International and Comparative Law, the UK
City University of Hong Kong, School of Law, China
Durham University, Durham Law School, the UK
Erasmus University Rotterdam, Erasmus School of Law, the Netherlands
Hongkong University, Faculty of Law, China
Kobe University, Faculty of Law, Japan
National University of Singapore, Faculty of Law, Singapore
Peking University, Law School, China
Queen Mary University of London, School of Law, the UK
Shanghai Jiao Tong University, KoGuan School of Law, China
Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China Institute for Socio-Legal Studies, China
Shanghai Maritime University, School of Law, China
Tsinghua University, School of Law, China
Università Bocconi, School of Law, Italy
University of Freiburg, Faculty of Law, Germany
University of New South Wales, Faculty of Law, Australia
Western Sydney University, School of Law, Australia